Home > Uncategorized > B2B Marketing tools

B2B Marketing tools


B2B web marketing platforms

Interesting debate on B2B marketing platforms on http://www.velocitypartners.co.uk/2010/02/08/b2b-web-marketing-the-platform-battle/

Question is: who will win this battle CRM or CMS?

I would say: none of the above.

Last week I had a conversation with a tool vendor trying to convince me that it would be best if I threw away my e-mail marketing point solution (SAAS model) and replace it by some module built in their next version of a CMS (“yes it will be there in April…”). Why would that be better? Will it make me a better marketer? Will it enable me to serve my customers better? Or will it lock me in to that particular CMS, making it difficult for me to replace it for something better that may come along in the future? No, I’ll stick with the cheap point solutions, loosely integrated through web services. Cheap, flexible and (most important) expendable.

Years of ERP and CRM faillures should have tought us that there is no such thing as a “suite” or a platform that actually offers a long term advantage over point solutions. Businesses change, customers change, markets change, communities change, management changes, software versions change – need I go on?

My bet would be to derive your current need for tooling from your current business strategies and realities. And when things change, throw the obsolete functions away, and please ignore all IT people advising you otherwise, especially tool vendors.

Use your functionality for what is was made to do and don’t customise it

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. February 10, 2010 at 10:46 am

    Knitting together point solutions is great for more confident, tech-savvy marketers but I think the majority will prefer a simpler life.

    There are also benefits of integration beyond simplicity and convenience. Insight from one module informs another; easier automation…

    • February 10, 2010 at 12:18 pm

      Agree Doug.
      Can any marketer these days afford to lead a simpler life with regards to Online?
      An if so, what will the risk of this relative luxury be? Potentially biased advice by own IT org or tool vendors? Lock into product roadmaps which are not necessarily aligned with your future business roadmap, causing you to start customising the tool?

      I guess my point is not to put all your eggs in one basket (i.e. CRM vs. CMS) and to keep an open mind towards alternatives or potential symbiosis.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment